Be a part of the Campaign for the AAES 40th Year Anniversary by making a donation today. The Campaign outlines new initiatives that will expand opportunities for current and future endocrine surgeons.

Apply Now for the 2022 Research Awards

The Paul LoGerfo Research Award (PLRA) was developed to honor the life of Paul LoGerfo who made numerous major contributions to the field of endocrine surgery during his esteemed career. Dr. LoGerfo passed away from malignant melanoma in 2003 during the peak of his career while serving as President of the American Association of Endocrine Surgeons. The mission of the PLRA is to enrich the discipline of endocrine surgery and to advance the careers of junior investigators who are interested in a career in academic endocrine surgery. AAES will support grant proposals that broaden the horizon of endocrine surgery and advance the career-goals of junior endocrine surgeons.  In 2022, two PLRA grants will be awarded at $15,000 each. The PLRA may be used for bridge or supplemental funding for research protocols with existing funding.

The ThyCa: Thyroid Cancer Survivors’ Association Award for Thyroid Cancer Research was developed in 2017 by the generous support of ThyCa to promote and support thyroid cancer research by AAES members. AAES welcomes proposals for support of a wide spectrum of research topics including surgical ethics, education, epidemiology, biostatistics, health care delivery, as well as clinical or basic science research pertaining to the field of thyroid cancer. In 2022, one ThyCa grant will be awarded at $25,000. This award may be used for bridge or supplemental funding for research protocols with existing funding.

Applications are due Tuesday, February 15, 2022.

Please note: If you are applying for both awards, please be sure to include two separate budgets, one for each award amount.

Submit your completed application to AAES Headquarters: [email protected]

Questions about the research award criteria should be directed to the Chair of the AAES Research Committee, Carrie Lubitz, MD, [email protected]

The award recipients and title of the projects will be announced at the 2022 AAES Annual Meeting and in other AAES-sponsored publications.