Be a part of the Campaign for the AAES 40th Year Anniversary by making a donation today. The Campaign outlines new initiatives that will expand opportunities for current and future endocrine surgeons.

Past Award Winners


Paul LoGerfo Research Award Winners


ThyCa: Thyroid Cancer Survivors’ Association Award for Thyroid Cancer Research


Samira Sadowski, MD
National Institutes of Health
"Novel Treatments Targeting Epigenetic Regulation of Somatostatin Receptor Type 2 Expression in Radionuclide-Refractory Neuroendocrine Tumors"

Dawn Elfenbein, MD
University of Wisconsin-Madison
"Randomized Controlled Trial of Preoperative Steroids in Autoimmune Thyroid Disease"


Mahsa Javid, MD, PhD
Medical University of South Carolina
"The role of advanced glycation end products in thyroid cancer"

Naira Baregamian, MD
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
"Immunometabolic Glutathione Pathway-dependent Targeting of Tumor Progression in Thyroid Cancer"


Heather Wachtel, MD
University of Pennsylvania
"Circulating miRNA signatures in primary hyperparathyroidism"

David Schneider, MD
University of Wisconsin
"Using patient language for measuring quality of life in thyroid cancer"


Xavier Keutgen, MD
Rush University Medical Center
"Transcriptional analysis of syndromic and sporadic pancreatic neuroendocrine tumors yields novel genotype specific targets"

Raymon Grogan, MD
University of Chicago
"Microbiome alterations and thyroid cancer risk"


Basic Science
Dhaval Patel, MD
National Institutes of Health
"Comprehensive Metabolomic Analysis of Adrenocortical Carcinoma: Toward Improved Diagnosis, Prognosis and Therapeutic Targets"

Clinical Research
Susan Pitt, MD, MPHS
University of Wisconsin
"Decision-Making about Papillary Thyroid Microcarcinoma Treatment"


Basic Research
Brian Untch, MD
Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
"RTKs in Resistane to RAS Inhibition in Thyroid Cancer"

Clinical Research
Insoo Suh, MD
Univeristy of California San Francisco
"FDG-PET Imaging for Parathyroid Tumors"


Michael Stang, MD
University of Pittsburgh
"Lysosome Centered Signaling and Regulation of Autophagy in a Model of Papillary Thyroid Carcinoma"


Jason D. Prescott, MD
Johns Hopkins School of Medicine
"Development of a High Throughput in vivo Screening System for Small Molecule Activators of Thyroid Differentiation: In Search of Novel Agents for Treatment of Undifferentiated Thyroid Cancer"


Daniel Ruan, MD
Brigham and Women’s Hospital
"Overcoming Medullary Thyroid Cancer Resistance to Vandetanib: Characterization of the Mechanisms"


Naris Nilubol, MD
National Cancer Institute
"Identification and Validation of Novel Anticancer Compounds for the Treatment of Adrenocortical Cancer"


Rebecca S. Sippel, MD
University of Wisconsin – Madison
"Characterization of Age-Related Changes in the Notch1 Pathway in Well-Differentiated Thyroid Cancers"



Taylor Brown, MD, MHS
Washington University
"Mapping of Intratumoral Heterogeneity and Identification of Druggable Targets in Anaplastic Thyroid Cancer using Whole-Exome Sequencing"


Matthew Nehs, MD
Brigham and Women's Hospital
"Metabolic Inhibition of Anaplastic Thyroid Carcinoma"


Lawrence Shirley, MD
Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center
"Integrin linked kinase facilitates communication between cancer associated fibroblasts and immune cells in papillary thyroid cancer"


Melissa Wilson, MD
NYU Langone Medical Center
"Adjuvant targeted therapy to improve efficacy of RAI in early stage BRAF mutant PTC"